Print

In-depth Listed companies & corporate financing: Small businesses

The European Commission proposes new rules to support the listing of small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs)

Published on July 9, 2018

The European Commission published two regulation proposals to support the listing of SMEs. This initiative follows the public consultation launched by the European Commission at the end of December 2017, to which the Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF), as an active participant in European reflections on this matter, responded. The French markets regulator welcomes the contemplated changes, which are in line with some of the proposals made within the framework of this public consultation and are, more generally, in line with the AMF's strategy to support SMEs and mid-caps in a suitable and pragmatic regulatory environment.

The European Commission’s legislative initiative

The European Commission's legislative initiative aims to increase the number of IPOs on SME growth markets (a European label to which non-regulated markets are eligible) and to allow issuers listed on these markets to attract more investors. It is also part of the broader framework of the Capital Markets Union.

European commissionThe first regulation proposal amends the Market Abuse Regulation and the Prospectus Regulation, while the second delegated regulation proposal brings technical amendments to MiFID 2. These adjustments concern only SME growth markets and issuers listed on these markets.

Focus on certain proposals:

Market abuse

The Commission proposes some targeted adjustments to the 2014 Market Abuse Regulation.

The regulation proposal allows issuers, in particular, to maintain only a list of "permanent" insiders specifically defined (defined in a specific way) and to publish the information on managers’ transactions within a certain delay upon reception of the notification of such transactions.

Moreover, the disclosure of information on private placement to qualified investors would be exempted - subject to certain conditions - from the market sounding regime. Finally, according to the Commission’s proposal an issuer should justify its decision to delay the disclosure of inside information only if requested by the competent authority, and that the issuer is no longer required to keep a record of such explanations.

Liquidity and markets

In addition to the principle of a minimum free float requirement for issuers seeking admission on an SME growth market, the Commission’s proposal creates an optional European liquidity contract regime for issuers listed on an SME growth market only, without prejudice to any accepted market practice adopted by Member States.

The proposal also introduces a new definition of non-equity issuers on an SME growth market and enables the operator of such a market to exempt non-equity (exclusively) issuers from publishing half-yearly financial reports.

Finally, the Commission proposes to facilitate the transfer of listed securities from an SME growth market to a regulated market by allowing an issuer to use the new simplified prospectus for secondary issuances, subject to the condition that it has been listed on an SME growth market for at least three years.

The AMF welcomes this targeted initiative, which incorporates some of the proposals it has made, and hopes that it will soon be successful. However, improvements could be made, such as the extension to the annual financial reports of the publication exemption for non-equity issuers or, for the sake of consistency, the exemption from the market sounding regime for all private placements, regardless of the issuer's listing market. In coordination with the other French authorities, the AMF will closely monitor the negotiations on the subject.

Page top

Legal information
Head of publications: The Executive Director of AMF Communication Directorate.
Contact: Communication Directorate – Autorité des marches financiers 17 place de la Bourse – 75082 Paris cedex 02

Imprimer

Télécharger

Dossiers thématiques Sociétés cotées & opérations financières: PME

La Commission européenne propose de nouvelles règles visant à soutenir la cotation des petites et moyennes entreprises (PME)

Publié le 25 juin 2018

La Commission européenne a publié deux propositions de règlement visant à soutenir la cotation des PME. Cette initiative fait suite à la consultation publique lancée fin décembre 2017 par la Commission européenne et à laquelle l’Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF), participant activement aux réflexions européennes, avait répondu. Le régulateur français se félicite des évolutions envisagées, qui rejoignent certaines propositions formulées dans le cadre de cette consultation publique et s’inscrivent plus largement dans la stratégie de l’AMF pour accompagner les PME et ETI dans un environnement réglementaire adapté et pragmatique.

Initiative législative de la Commission européenne

L'initiative législative de la Commission européenne vise à accroître le nombre d'introductions en bourse sur les marchés de croissance des PME (label européen auquel sont éligibles les marchés non réglementés) et à permettre aux émetteurs cotés sur ces marchés d'attirer davantage les investisseurs. Elle s’inscrit en outre dans le cadre plus large de l’Union des marchés de capitaux.

Commission européenneLa première proposition de règlement amende les règlements Abus de marché et Prospectus tandis que la seconde proposition de règlement délégué porte sur des modifications techniques de MIF 2. Ces aménagements ne concernent que les marchés de croissance des PME et les émetteurs cotés sur ces marchés.

Focus sur quelques propositions :

Abus de marché

La Commission propose quelques aménagements ciblés du règlement Abus de marché de 2014.

La proposition de règlement permet notamment aux émetteurs de ne tenir à jour qu’une liste d’initiés « permanents » (définis de manière spécifique) et de publier les informations sur les transactions effectuées par les dirigeants à compter de la réception de la notification de ces transactions.

De plus, serait exemptée du régime des sondages de marché la communication d’informations sur des placements privés auprès d’investisseurs qualifiés, sous réserve de certaines conditions. Enfin, la Commission propose qu’un émetteur n’ait à justifier sa décision de différer la publication d’une information privilégiée que sur demande de l’autorité compétente, et ne soit plus tenu de conserver un enregistrement de ces explications.

Liquidité et marchés

Outre le principe d’une condition de flottant minimum pour l’admission à la cote, la Commission propose la création d’un régime européen optionnel de contrat de liquidité sur actions pour ces seuls émetteurs, indépendamment d’éventuelles pratiques de marché admises adoptées par les Etats membres.

La proposition introduit également une nouvelle définition des émetteurs obligataires sur un marché de croissance des PME et permet à l’opérateur d’un tel marché d’exempter les émetteurs exclusivement obligataires de la publication de rapports financiers semestriels.

Enfin, la Commission propose de faciliter le passage d’un marché de croissance des PME vers un marché réglementé en permettant qu’un émetteur puisse recourir au nouveau prospectus simplifié des émissions secondaires pour transférer la cotation de ses titres sur un marché réglementé, sous réserve qu’il soit coté depuis au moins trois ans sur le marché de croissance des PME d’origine.

L’AMF accueille favorablement cette initiative ciblée, qui reprend certaines des propositions qu’elle avait formulées, et souhaite qu’elle puisse aboutir rapidement. Des améliorations pourraient toutefois être apportées, telles que l’extension aux rapports financiers annuels de la dispense de publication pour les émetteurs exclusivement obligataires ou, dans un souci de cohérence, l’exemption du régime des sondages de marché pour l’ensemble des placements privés, quel que soit le marché de cotation de l’émetteur. En lien avec les autres autorités françaises, l’AMF suivra attentivement les négociations sur le sujet.

Haut de page

Mentions légales :
Responsable de la publication : Le Directeur de la Direction de la communication de l'AMF
Contact : Direction de la communication, Autorité des marchés financiers - 17, place de la Bourse - 75082 Paris Cedex 02