Print

In-depth Sustainable finance

Creation of an AMF Climate and Sustainable Finance Commission

Published on July 29, 2019

The AMF's Climate and Sustainable Finance Commission, whose creation was announced on 2 July 2019, will bring together stakeholders on the subject of sustainable finance. Its role will be to assist the Authority in carrying out its regulatory and supervisory missions on issues related to sustainable finance. It will work closely with the Autorité de contrôle prudentiel et de résolution (ACPR). Focus on its mandate, composition and functioning.

The regulator's commitment to sustainable finance

Energy transition and the emergence of sustainable finance are key issues for financial markets, financial stability and investor protection.

Through its reports on socially responsible investment in collective investment (SRI report) and on social, societal and environmental responsibility (CSR report) and its regular interactions with stakeholders on these subjects, the Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF) has progressively strengthened its commitment to sustainable finance. At the beginning of 2018, the Authority made it a major focus of its strategic plan, #Supervision2022, with the objective to reflect in all its missions and activities and detailed in the roadmap for sustainable finance published in November 2018. The PACTE law passed in spring 2019 also recognised this new responsibility, by defining a specific mission for the AMF, which is responsible for ensuring the quality of information provided by management companies on their investment strategy and risk management related to the effects of climate change. In addition, the European Commission's action plan published in March 2018 and the various related measures modify many existing EU legislations or create new obligations and incentives for market participants regulated by the AMF.

The regulator's objective is to change practice, increase transparency and facilitate the consideration of sustainability issues and the mobilization of capital for more sustainable activities.

Mobilise new fields of expertise and work collectively on these new challenges

Taking into account the effects of climate change and other environmental and social risks on economic models is a complex exercise and requires the mobilisation of multiple fields of expertise. It challenges existing models of analysis and the very foundations of how financial markets function. It affects corporate strategies and therefore requires a close dialogue between issuers and investors. It also affects the convictions and preferences of investors, both institutional and retail.

After a phase of growing awareness, it is now necessary to disseminate more widely, to advance/put forward methodologies and information available, to ensure that the conditions upon which trust is based are preserved, notably with regard to risks associated with greenwashing, and to assess their real effects, in particular in terms of reallocation of capital flows. It is also necessary to swiftly prepare for and anticipate the regulatory changes foreseen by the European Commission's Action Plan for Sustainable Finance.

In this context, the AMF announced on 2 July 2019 the creation of a Climate and Sustainable Finance Commission dedicated to these cross-cutting themes and bringing together stakeholders on the subject of sustainable finance. For matters of common interest, the AMF Commission will work closely with the Commission of the Autorité de contrôle prudentiel et de résolution (ACPR), the creation of which was announced on the same day. In particular, the two Commissions will collaborate for the implementation of the new mechanism set up for the independent monitoring and assessment of the climate-related commitments taken by institutions of the Paris marketplace. (1)

(1) These announcements were made as part of a collective communication from the French Ministry of Economy and Finance, the French supervisory authorities, and the French financial community.

New monitoring and evaluation mechanism for climate commitments

The monitoring mechanism presented on 2 July 2019 will be operated by the ACPR and the AMF, as part of their respective missions to supervise banks, insurance companies and asset management companies and to review the information published by issuers regarding their extra-financial performance.

In this context, the AMF will ensure that the information contained in the documentation provided to the markets by issuers and to investors for asset management companies regarding climate-related policies and commitments adopted by these entities is of quality. In particular, this documentation includes the extra-financial performance reports appended to the management report and, where applicable, to the registration documents, where publication of these declarations is required. The AMF will also provide a pivotal link with the work carried out within the networks of market regulators for sustainable finance established at European (ESMA) and international (IOSCO) level.

The ACPR will regularly monitor and evaluate the commitments made by banks and insurers and will ensure that these commitments are consistent with the institutions' strategic guidelines. It will also liaise with the work carried out as part of the Network of central banks and supervisors for the Greening of the Financial System (NGFS).

The ACPR and the AMF will also publish an annual report on work carried out, providing coverage of the climate-related commitments made by financial institutions of the French marketplace and how they will be effectively implemented. The authorities' annual report will also make recommendations on how to improve the monitoring of the the market place participants’ commitments and on ways to develop the tools and regulatory framework to promote the development of sustainable finance.

Mandate and work of the Climate and Sustainable Finance Commission of the AMF

The role of the AMF's Climate and Sustainable Finance Commission will be to assist the AMF to carry out its regulatory and supervisory tasks on issues related to sustainable finance. The Commission will also provide a forum for dialogue and work with the aim of contributing to the effective mobilisation of the financial sector in the face of climate risk and contributing to making sustainable finance a practice with a significant impact on the process of allocating capital to a sustainable economy. The Commission's work must not duplicate work done in other marketplace fora or for the climate.

To this end, the Commission will be responsible in particular for:  

  • contributing to the work carried out by the AMF in collaboration with the ACPR on the monitoring and evaluation of the climate commitments of financial institutions, and in particular to the development of methods for measuring and reporting commitments in order to ensure their comparability and monitoring over time, and participate, with the ACPR Commission, in the preparation of the authorities' annual report;
  • contributing to the development of methodologies for the review of non-financial information by the AMF and to the promotion of good practice in terms of communication and transparency;
  • providing technical expertise and insight into market and practice developments (including climate and other ESG risk management and non-financial information), as well as ESG-related innovations and emerging issues;
  • confronting the views of the various stakeholders on the financial sector's response to climate risk and, more generally, the contribution of finance to environmental, social and societal issues and sustainable development, thus providing coordinated responses and guidance to the AMF Board and, where appropriate, to public authorities;
  • contributing to work related to the development of national or European regulations within the AMF's remit, as well as to international discussions in this field, and assisting in the implementation of the texts;
  • providing opinions on draft AMF reports or guides related to sustainable finance, draft regulatory texts for which the AMF is responsible or on which the Board's opinion is sought and proposals for changes in AMF doctrine on the subject (positions, recommendations).

Composition and functioning of the Commission

The Climate and Sustainable Finance Commission will be chaired by a member of the AMF Board.

It is intended to meet on a monthly basis.

Its members will reflect the different components of the financial markets (issuers, asset managers, institutional investors, corporate and investment banking, rating agencies, data providers), civil society and academia. 

In determining the composition of the Commission, the AMF will ensure a high level of expertise in the fields of climate risk and sustainable finance as well as balance in the skills and profiles selected. In particular, skills in the following areas will be sought: analysis of the interaction between climate risk, environmental, social or governance risks and financial assets, industrial policies related to climate change and low-carbon strategies, financial and non-financial reporting, sustainable or socially responsible investment, green and sustainable financial products, low-carbon and ESG indices, rating and non-financial research, impact measurement of investment policies.

Members will be appointed intuitu personae by the AMF Board for a renewable three-year term. They will commit to an active presence and personal contribution in order to contribute to the collective work, which may involve crucial preparatory and follow-up work. Members of the Commission may also act as "rapporteurs" if necessary.

The Commission may establish dedicated working groups, chaired by a member of the Commission, which may call upon experts from outside the membership of the Commission, if necessary, to conduct work on the themes selected. This work may result in publications that may be taken up, if appropriate, by the AMF. The Commission may invite external experts to participate in its meetings when it deems it useful. The Commission may also, if necessary, alert the AMF Board to issues of concern related to its field of analysis.

A charter governing the Commission's governance and operating rules will be established before the work begins. This charter shall in particular lay down the rules governing the adoption of opinions or conclusions, attendance, conflicts of interest, confidentiality and the personal contribution of members. The members of the Commission will not be remunerated.

The Climate and Sustainable Finance Commission will be chaired by Thierry Philipponnat, an AMF Board member. The AMF will publish the list of the Commission’s members in September 2019. 

Page top

Legal information
Head of publications: The Executive Director of AMF Communication Directorate.
Contact: Communication Directorate – Autorité des marches financiers 17 place de la Bourse – 75082 Paris cedex 02

Imprimer

Télécharger

Dossiers thématiques Finance durable

Finance durable : l’AMF crée une commission Climat et finance durable

Publié le 23 juillet 2019

La Commission Climat et finance durable de l’AMF, dont la création a été annoncée le 2 juillet 2019, rassemblera les parties prenantes sur le sujet de la finance durable. Son rôle sera d’aider l’Autorité à conduire ses missions à la fois de régulation et de supervision sur les thématiques liées à la finance durable. Elle travaillera en étroite collaboration avec celle de l’Autorité de contrôle prudentiel et de résolution. Zoom sur son mandat, sa composition et son fonctionnement.

L’engagement du régulateur pour la finance durable

La transition énergétique et l’émergence d’une finance durable constituent des enjeux clés pour les marchés financiers, pour la stabilité financière et pour la protection des investisseurs.

A travers ses rapports sur l’investissement socialement responsable dans la gestion collective (rapport ISR) et sur la responsabilité sociale, sociétale et environnementale (rapport RSE) ainsi qu’avec ses interactions régulières avec les acteurs sur ces sujets, l’Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF) a développé son engagement en faveur de la finance durable. Début 2018, l’Autorité en a fait un axe majeur de son plan stratégique, #Supervision2022, décliné dans l’ensemble de ses missions et de ses activités, et détaillé dans la feuille de route pour la finance durable publiée en novembre 2018. La loi PACTE votée au printemps 2019 est aussi venue reconnaître cette responsabilité nouvelle, en définissant une mission spécifique pour l’AMF, chargée de veiller à la qualité de l’information fournie par les sociétés de gestion sur leur stratégie d’investissement et leur gestion des risques liés aux effets du changement climatique. Le plan d’action de la Commission européenne publié en mars 2018 et les différentes mesures liées viennent par ailleurs modifier de nombreux textes ou créer des obligations et incitations nouvelles pour les acteurs régulés par l’AMF.

L’objectif du régulateur est de faire évoluer les pratiques, accroître la transparence et faciliter la prise en compte des enjeux de durabilité et la mobilisation des capitaux au profit des activités plus durables.

Mobiliser des expertises nouvelles et travailler collectivement sur ces nouveaux enjeux

La prise en compte des effets du changement climatique et des autres risques environnementaux et sociaux sur les modèles économiques est complexe et nécessite de mobiliser des expertises multiples. Elle questionne en profondeur les schémas d’analyse et les bases du fonctionnement des marchés financiers. Elle touche aux stratégies des entreprises et nécessite donc un dialogue étroit entre émetteurs et investisseurs. Elle touche aussi aux convictions et préférences des investisseurs, institutionnels comme petits épargnants.

Après la phase de prise de conscience, il faut aujourd’hui diffuser plus largement, faire progresser les méthodologies et les informations disponibles, veiller à préserver les conditions de la confiance, en particulier vis-à-vis des risques de greenwashing, et évaluer les effets réels, notamment en termes de réallocation des flux de capitaux. Il faut aussi rapidement se préparer aux évolutions réglementaires prévues par le Plan d’action de la Commission européenne pour la finance durable et anticiper leur mise en œuvre.

Dans ce contexte, l’AMF a annoncé le 2 juillet 2019 la création d’une Commission Climat et Finance durable dédiée à ces thématiques transverses et rassemblant les parties prenantes sur le sujet de la finance durable. Cette commission travaillera en étroite collaboration, pour les sujets d’intérêt commun, avec celle de l’Autorité de contrôle prudentiel et de résolution (ACPR) dont la création a été annoncée le même jour, et notamment pour la mise en œuvre du nouveau dispositif de suivi et d’évaluation indépendante des engagements pris par les entités de la Place financière en matière de climat(1).

(1) Ces annonces ont été faites dans le cadre d’une communication collective du Ministère de l’Economie et des Finances, des autorités publiques ACPR et AMF, et de la Place.

Nouveau dispositif de suivi et d’évaluation des engagements en matière de climat

Le dispositif de suivi présenté le 2 juillet 2019 sera conduit par l’ACPR et l’AMF, dans le cadre de leurs missions respectives de contrôle des banques, des assurances et des sociétés de gestion et de revue des informations publiées par les émetteurs au titre de leur performance extra-financière.

Dans ce cadre, l’AMF veillera à la qualité des informations contenues dans la documentation fournie aux marchés par les émetteurs et aux investisseurs pour les sociétés de gestion et portant sur les politiques et engagements adoptés par ces entités en faveur du climat. Cette documentation inclut notamment les déclarations de performance extra-financière jointes au rapport de gestion et, le cas échéant, aux documents de référence, lorsque la publication de ces déclarations est requise. L’AMF assurera également le lien avec les travaux conduits dans le cadre des réseaux de régulateurs de marché pour la finance durable établis au niveau européen (ESMA) et international (IOSCO).

L’ACPR procèdera au suivi régulier et à l'évaluation des engagements pris par les banques et les assurances et veillera à la cohérence de ces engagements avec les orientations stratégiques des établissements. Elle assurera également le lien avec les travaux conduits dans le cadre du réseau des banques centrales et des superviseurs pour le verdissement du système financier (NGFS).

Il est par ailleurs prévu que l’ACPR et l’AMF publient annuellement un rapport rendant compte des travaux et fournissant une indication sur les engagements pris par les entités de la place en faveur du climat et les conditions de leur mise en œuvre effective. Le rapport annuel des autorités fera aussi toute recommandation visant à améliorer le suivi des engagements individuels des acteurs de la place et à développer les outils et le cadre réglementaire en faveur du développement de la finance durable.

Mandat et travaux de la Commission Climat et Finance durable de l’AMF

Le rôle de la commission Climat et Finance durable de l’AMF sera d’aider l’Autorité à conduire ses missions à la fois de régulation et de supervision sur les thématiques liées à la finance durable. La commission offrira aussi un forum d’échanges et de travail avec comme objectif de participer à la mobilisation effective du secteur financier face au risque climatique et de contribuer à faire de la finance durable une pratique ayant un impact significatif sur le processus d’allocation du capital vers une économie durable. Les travaux de la Commission ne devront pas dupliquer les travaux réalisés dans d’autres instances de place ou pour le climat.

Pour cela, la commission sera notamment chargée de :   

  • Contribuer aux travaux réalisés par l’AMF en collaboration avec l’ACPR pour le suivi et l’évaluation des engagements des entités de la Place financière en matière de climat, et notamment à la définition des méthodes de mesure et de communication des engagements afin d’assurer leur comparabilité et leur suivi dans le temps, et participer, avec la Commission de l’ACPR, à l’élaboration du rapport annuel des autorités ;
  • Contribuer au développement des méthodologies de revues des informations extra-financières réalisées par l’AMF et à la mise en avant de bonnes pratiques en matière de communication et de transparence ;
  • Fournir une expertise technique et un regard sur l’évolution du marché et des pratiques (notamment dans les domaines de la gestion des risques climatiques et autres risques ESG et de l’information extra-financière), ainsi que sur les innovations dans le domaine de l’ESG et les enjeux nouveaux émergents ;
  • Confronter les points de vue des différentes parties prenantes sur la réponse du secteur financier au risque climatique et plus généralement la contribution de la finance aux enjeux environnementaux, sociaux et sociétaux et au développement durable, permettant ainsi d’apporter des éléments de réponse coordonnés et des orientations au Collège de l’AMF et, le cas échéant, aux pouvoirs publics ;
  • Contribuer aux travaux visant à faire évoluer la réglementation nationale ou européenne entrant dans le champ de compétence de l’AMF, ainsi qu’aux réflexions menées au niveau international dans le domaine, et aider à la mise en œuvre des textes ;
  • Fournir des avis sur les projets de rapports ou guides de l’AMF en lien avec la finance durable, les projets de textes réglementaires relevant de l’AMF ou sur lesquels l’avis du Collège est sollicité et les propositions d’évolutions de la doctrine de l’AMF sur le sujet (positions, recommandations).

Composition et fonctionnement de la commission

La commission Climat et finance durable sera présidée par un membre du Collège de l’AMF.

Elle a vocation à se réunir sur une base mensuelle.

Ses membres reflèteront les différentes composantes du marché financier (émetteurs, gérants d’actifs, investisseurs institutionnels, banques d’investissement et de financement, agences de notation extra financière, fournisseurs de données), de la société civile et de la sphère académique.  

Pour arrêter la composition de la commission, l’AMF veillera à assurer un niveau élevé d’expertise en matière de risque climatique et de finance durable ainsi qu’un équilibre dans les compétences et les profils retenus. Les compétences dans les domaines suivants seront en particulier recherchées : analyse de l’interaction entre le risque climatique, les risques environnementaux, sociaux ou de gouvernance et les actifs financiers, politiques industrielles liées au changement climatique et stratégies bas carbone, reporting financier et extra-financier, investissement durable ou socialement responsable, produits financiers verts et durables, indices bas carbone et ESG, notation et recherche extra-financière, mesure de l’impact des politiques d’investissement.

Les membres seront nommés intuitu personae par le Collège de l’AMF pour une durée de trois ans renouvelable. Ils s’engageront à une présence et une contribution personnelle active afin de nourrir le travail collectif, ce qui pourra impliquer des travaux préparatoires et de suivi importants. Ils pourront aussi être amenés à agir, le cas échéant, en tant que « rapporteurs ».

La Commission pourra établir des groupes de travail dédiés, présidés par un membre de la commission, et qui pourront faire appel, si besoin, à des experts en dehors des membres de la commission pour conduire des travaux sur les thèmes qu’elle aura retenus. Ces travaux pourront donner lieu à des publications qui pourront être reprises, le cas échéant, par l’AMF. La commission pourra inviter des experts extérieurs à participer à ses réunions quand elle le jugera utile. La commission pourra aussi, en tant que de besoin, alerter le Collège de l’AMF sur des sujets de préoccupation liés à son champ d’analyse.

Une charte encadrant la gouvernance et les règles de fonctionnement de la commission sera établie avant le début des travaux. Cette charte organisera notamment les règles en matière d’adoption d’avis ou de conclusions, de présence, de conflits d’intérêts, de confidentialité et de contribution personnelle des membres. Les membres de la commission ne seront pas rémunérés.

La commission Climat et finance durable sera présidée par Thierry Philipponnat, membre du Collège de l’AMF. La liste des membres de la commission sera publiée par l’AMF au mois de septembre 2019. 

Haut de page

Mentions légales :
Responsable de la publication : Le Directeur de la Direction de la communication de l'AMF
Contact : Direction de la communication, Autorité des marchés financiers - 17, place de la Bourse - 75082 Paris Cedex 02