Print

In-depth Sustainable finance

Sustainable finance: the AMF accompanies asset management companies in their carbon offsetting initiatives

Published on March 18, 2019

As part of its commitment to sustainable finance, the Autorité des Marchés Financiers (AMF) has published a guide on carbon offsetting by collective investment schemes. The purpose of this guide is to accompany asset management companies that want to provide their investors with information on offsetting greenhouse gas emissions associated with the assets held in their portfolios by cancelling carbon credits.

A guide to promote best practice

The AMF’s guide on carbon offsetting by collective investment schemes (CISs) aims to share examples of best practice that can be used when designing this type of product. It covers the following topics:

  • Methods for calculating carbon footprints for the purpose of carbon offsetting
  • The characteristics of the carbon credits used for offsetting purposes
  • Implementation methods for cancelling carbon credits

The appendix to this guide contains a summary of the different best practices, which are categorised according to whether they relate to the design of a CIS itself or rather providing information to holders.

Sustainable finance: a priority for the AMF

Sustainable finance is a cornerstone of the AMF’s “#Supervision 2022” strategy, which was set out in the roadmap it published in late 2018. The regulator wants to play a key role in promoting and accelerating the changes needed in the finance sector to incorporate sustainability issues more effectively, while at the same time maintaining confidence in the markets. The AMF’s work on sustainable finance primarily involves accompanying and raising awareness among stakeholders with the objective of promoting best practice.

Page top

Legal information
Head of publications: The Executive Director of AMF Communication Directorate.
Contact: Communication Directorate – Autorité des marches financiers 17 place de la Bourse – 75082 Paris cedex 02

Imprimer

Télécharger

Dossiers thématiques Finance durable

Finance durable : l’AMF accompagne les sociétés de gestion dans leur démarche de compensation de l’empreinte carbone

Publié le 18 mars 2019

Dans le cadre de ses engagements en faveur de la finance durable, l’Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF) publie un guide sur la compensation de l’empreinte carbone par les organismes de placement collectif. Il vise à accompagner les sociétés de gestion souhaitant communiquer des informations à leurs investisseurs sur la mise en place d’une compensation des émissions de gaz à effet de serre associées aux actifs détenus, par le recours à des opérations d’annulation de crédits de carbone.

Un guide pour faire progresser les bonnes pratiques

Le guide de l’AMF sur la compensation de l’empreinte carbone par les organismes de placement collectif (OPC) vise à partager des exemples de bonnes pratiques qui peuvent être mises en œuvre pour la conception de ce type de produits. Le guide traite des thèmes suivants :

  • Les modalités de calcul de l’empreinte carbone utilisé à des fins de compensation
  • Les caractéristiques des crédits de carbone utilisés à des fins de compensation
  • Les modalités de mise en œuvre de l’annulation de crédit carbone

Une annexe synthétise les différentes bonnes pratiques selon qu’elles concernent la conception de l’OPC lui-même ou l’information des porteurs.

La finance durable : une priorité pour l’AMF

La finance durable est un axe structurant de la stratégie de l’AMF « #Supervision 2022 », détaillé dans une feuille de route publiée par l’AMF fin 2018. Le régulateur souhaite jouer un rôle important pour encourager et accélérer les transformations de l’industrie financière nécessaires pour mieux intégrer les enjeux de durabilité, en préservant les conditions de la confiance. L’action de l’AMF en faveur de la finance durable se décline notamment dans l’accompagnement et la sensibilisation des acteurs pour faire progresser les bonnes pratiques.

Haut de page

Mentions légales :
Responsable de la publication : Le Directeur de la Direction de la communication de l'AMF
Contact : Direction de la communication, Autorité des marchés financiers - 17, place de la Bourse - 75082 Paris Cedex 02