General Regulation

Print

Compliance officers Presentation

Key players in the compliance and internal control system

Published on May 24, 2013

The compliance function is handled by an Investment Services Compliance Officer (RCSI) for an investment services provider (excluding asset management companies) and by a Compliance and Internal Control Officer (RCCI) in an asset management company. The AMF decides on the award of the RCCI and RCSI professional licences that are indispensable to hold office.

Purposes of the system

The main purposes of the compliance system are:

  • to detect any risk of non-compliance with the professional obligations applicable to investment services providers; and
  • to take any measures to minimise the consequences of non-compliance by the provider with its professional obligations.

Compliance function missions

The compliance function covers two broad missions:

  1. audit and assess the adequacy and efficiency of the compliance system and, if applicable, the internal control system of the investment services provider;
  2. advise and assist the people concerned in the conduct of their mission for the investment services provider so that they can carry out the tasks placed under their responsibility in compliance with their professional obligations.

A professional licence issued by the AMF

The AMF organises the examination to award RCCI and RCSI professional licences and proposes one week training courses to prepare for it, 4 times a year: 2 sessions for RCCI and 2 sessions for RCSI.

This preparatory training for the examination to award compliance officer professional licences should not be confused with the Compliance Officer Training Day which is held once a year. The purpose of this annual gathering is to provide compliance officers with an opportunity to enhance their knowledge and professional practices.

The examination consists of an interview with each candidate, during which the examiners must check:

  • the fitness and properness of the candidate, their knowledge of the professional obligations and their ability to exercise the functions of compliance officer,
  • that the compliance function has sufficient resources to fulfil its missions in an appropriate and independent manner, in accordance with Article 313-3 of the AMF General Regulation.

A register held by the AMF The professional licence does not exist in material form on paper, but is listed in a computerised register held by the AMF. It only gives its holder the right to exercise their function as compliance officer for the investment services provider which presented their application for the licence.

The examination panel is composed of a serving compliance officer, a person in charge of an operational department for an investment services provider and a staff member of the AMF. It gives an opinion on each application presented, but it is the AMF that has sole responsibility for the award of RCCI and RCSI licences at the end of the process.

Exemption from examination under certain conditions

Applicants who have exercised RCCI or RCSI functions for another investment services provider of equivalent activity and organisation may be exempted by the AMF from taking the examination, subject to two conditions:

  1. the applicant must have passed the examination previously,
  2. the investment services provider must previously have presented a successful candidate for the examination.

Page top

Legal notice

Règlement général

Imprimer

Télécharger

Responsables de la conformité Présentation

Les acteurs clés du dispositif de conformité et de contrôle interne

Publié le 2 mai 2013

La fonction de conformité est confiée à un responsable de la conformité pour les services d’investissement (RCSI) chez un prestataire de services d’investissement (hors sociétés de gestion de portefeuille) ou à un responsable de la conformité et du contrôle interne (RCCI) dans une société de gestion de portefeuille. L’AMF décide de l’attribution des cartes professionnelles des RCCI et RCSI, indispensables pour exercer.

Les objectifs du dispositif

Le dispositif de conformité a pour principaux objectifs de :

  • détecter tout risque de non-conformité aux obligations professionnelles applicables aux prestataires de services d’investissement,
  • d'établir toute mesure pour minimiser les conséquences attachées au non-respect par le prestataire de ses obligations professionnelles.

Les missions de la fonction de conformité

La fonction de conformité recouvre deux grandes missions :

  • contrôler et évaluer l’adéquation et l’efficacité du dispositif de conformité et, le cas échéant, de contrôle interne du prestataire de services d’investissement,
  • conseiller et assister les personnes concernées dans l’exercice de leurs missions chez le prestataire de services d’investissement afin qu’elles puissent accomplir les tâches qui leur sont confiées conformément à leurs obligations professionnelles.

Une carte professionnelle délivrée par l’AMF

L’AMF organise l’examen pour l’obtention des cartes professionnelles de RCCI et de RCSI et propose des formations d'une semaine, 4 fois par an (2 sessions RCCI et 2 sessions RCSI), pour s’y préparer.

Ces formations ne doivent pas être confondues avec la journée de formation des RCSI et des RCCI qui a lieu une fois par an. L’objectif de ce rendez-vous annuel est de permettre aux RCSI/RCCI d’approfondir leurs connaissances et d’améliorer leurs pratiques professionnelles.

L’examen consiste en un entretien avec chaque candidat au cours duquel le jury doit s’assurer :

  • de l’honorabilité du candidat, de sa connaissance des obligations professionnelles et de son aptitude à exercer les fonctions de responsable de la conformité,
  • que la fonction de conformité dispose des moyens suffisants pour s’acquitter de ses missions de manière appropriée et indépendante conformément à l’article 313-3 du règlement général de l’AMF.

Un registre tenu par l'AMFLa carte professionnelle n’est pas matérialisée par un support papier, mais fait l’objet d’une inscription dans un registre informatisé tenu par l’AMF. Elle ne donne à son détenteur le droit d’exercer sa fonction de responsable du contrôle que pour le prestataire de services d’investissement qui a présenté sa candidature pour l’obtention de cette carte.

Le jury d’examen est composé d’un responsable de la conformité en exercice, d’une personne en charge d’un service opérationnel au sein d’un prestataire de services d’investissement et d’un collaborateur de l’AMF. Il formule un avis sur chaque candidature présentée, mais c’est bien l’AMF qui reste seule responsable de l’attribution des cartes de RCCI et de RCSI à l’issue de ce processus.

Une dispense d’examen sous conditions

Les candidats qui ont exercé des fonctions de RCCI ou de RCSI chez un autre prestataire de services d’investissement ayant une activité et une organisation équivalente, peuvent être dispensés, par l’AMF, de se présenter à l’examen, sous deux conditions :

  • le candidat doit avoir déjà passé l’examen avec succès,
  • le prestataire de services d’investissement doit avoir déjà présenté, avec succès, un candidat à l’examen.

Haut de page

Mentions légales